Lukáš Hurník: Angels Overture (world premiere)

26. 4. 2017 Autor: default_author

On 20 April, the South Czech Philharmonic gave world premiere to the Angels Overture by composer Lukáš Hurník. The piece is in fact a newly-composed prelude based on the themes of The Angels, the author's "musical-opera" which was staged, rather unsuccessfully, eleven years ago at The National Theatre. The postmodern performance was telling a story of a group of angels, who, bored with the celestial music, decide to form a rock band; the Overture thus includes quotations of the music by Madonna or Deep Purple.

Jiří Kadeřábek: Duel II (world premiere)

22. 4. 2017 Autor: default_author

Only a few days after the premiere of No Man at The National Theatre in Prague, the internationally acclaimed composer Jiří Kadeřábek enjoyed another great success on the Czech scene. On 16 November in Rudolfinum's Dvořák Hall, PKF – Prague Philharmonia, led by Jakub Hrůša, presented his Duel II which was composed on the orchestra's commission.

Miroslav Srnka: move 03 (world premiere)

4. 4. 2017 Autor: default_author

A new orchestral composition by Miroslav Srnka received its premiere on 2nd April during the 34th year of Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo music festival which is taking place between 17th March and 8th April 2017.

Jiří Kadeřábek: No Man (world premiere)

2. 4. 2017 Autor: default_author

On March 31, the New Stage of the National Theatre in Prague introduced the long-awaited premiere of No Man, opera by composer Jiří Kadeřábek (*1978). It was watched by a sold-out stage where the spectators were seated; the auditorium, this time, was the place of action.

Zdenek Merta: Movimento vivo (world premiere)

30. 3. 2017 Autor: default_author

Movimento vivo, piano trio by Zdenek Merta (*1951) received its world premiere on March 28 in the Church of Sts. Simon and Jude in Prague. it was performed by Trio Martinů at a chamber concert organized by the Prague Symphony Orchestra FOK.

František Lukáš: Flames of Memories (world premiere)

26. 3. 2017 Autor: default_author

At their last subscription concert, the South Czech Philharmonic gave world premiere to Flames of Memories, an orchestral piece by composer and concert guitarist František Lukáš (*1977). The evening took place on 23rd March at the Theatre hall of the Metropol congress centre.

Darmstadt: Jenůfa

6. 3. 2017 Autor: default_author

On Saturday 4 March, Staatstheater Darmstadt premiered a new production of Janáček's Jenůfa. Its author Dirk Schmeding belongs to experienced Janáček-directors; he directed Jenufa already three years ago at Landestheater Detmold and his first work in Darmstadt was The Cunning Little Vixen. His co-workers from the latter production included other members of the present creative team – stage designer Martina Segna, costume designer Frank Lichtenbeg and especially the theatre's music director Will Humburg.

Santa Barbara: The Cunning Little Vixen

5. 3. 2017 Autor: default_author

One of the four operas presented this season at Opera Santa Barbara, California, is Janáček's Cunning Little Vixen. The new production by Crystal Manich, which is dedicated to both adult and children spectators (which is also one of the reasons why it is sung in an English), received two performances – on 3rd and 5th March at the Granada Theatre.

Hong Kong resonated with the music of Janáček and Dvořák

3. 3. 2017 Autor: default_author

One of the ensembles performing at the 45th year of the prestigious international Hong Kong Arts festival (Feb 16 – Mar 18) was the ensemble of the National Theatre Brno. HK Cultural Centre's Concert Hall, which can host nearly 1,600 visitors, saw them perform four times altogether – twice it was Janáček's opera The Makropulos Case, then his Sinfonietta, Eternal Gospel and Glagolitic Mass and also Antonín Dvořák's Stabat Mater.

Seattle: Katya Kabanova

26. 2. 2017 Autor: default_author

On 25th February, Seattle Opera in Washington, USA, premiered a new production of Leoš Janáček's Katya Kabanova. The Australian director Patrick Nolan, debutant at this opera house, did not set the story into the tsarist Russia, but into a small American town in the 50s. The heroine is thus presented as a modern woman rebelling against the patriarchal environment of the time that considered a woman's main task in life to be the care of her husband, children and household.

Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra: premieres of works by Jan Kučera and Ondřej Brousek

19. 2. 2017 Autor: default_author

Within their New Horizons cycle, Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra staged a concert called "The Classic in the Hands of Jazzmen". It was held on 13th February in the Municipal House's Smetana Hall and, next to the PRSO, it hosted another renowned radio ensemble – Czech Radio Big Band Gustav Brom.

Ensemble Opera Diversa. Premieres of pieces by Radim Bednařík and Miloš Štědroň

16. 2. 2017 Autor: default_author

Held on 6th February in Reduta, this year's first orchestral concert by the Brno-based Ensemble Opera Diversa not only celebrated Miloš Štědroň's 75th birthday but also served as a unique display of music by contemporary Czech and Moravian composers. Led by Gabriela Tardonová, the ensemble performed 6 pieces for strings, none of which was written more than twenty years ago.