Slavomír Hořínka: Words Without Thoughts (world premiere)

11. 6. 2016 Autor: default_author

Words Without Thoughts, a string quartet by Slavomír Hořínka (*1980), received its world premiere at the Concentus Moraviae international music festival whose 21st year's programme was focused solely on the string quartet music. Commissioned by the festival, the piece was performed on 9 June in the Municipal museum in Bystřice nad Pernštejnem by Miloslav Ištvan Quartett, an ensemble composed of young players (Alexej Aslamas, Jan Bělohlávak - violin, Stanislav Vacek - viola, Štěpán Filípek - cello) specializing in contemporary music.

Hořínka's initial inspiration was a scene from Shakespeare's Hamlet in which Hamlet secretly, with his hand on a sword hilt, watches his uncle (King Claudius) who, trying in vain to concentrate his thoughts on a prayer, delivers the following lines: "My words fly up, my thoughts remain below: Words without thoughts never to heaven go." The second source of inspiration was the analysis of John Lennon's voice: "The distinctive boldness of his speech lends a rather different meaning to the title of the piece," Hořínka notes and adds that the listeners may decide for themselves from which point of view they wish to approach the piece. The concert programme also included quartet music by Jan Novák (Quadricinium fidium), Miloslav Ištvan (Gloomy Landscape) and Ludwig van beethoven (Great Fugue B flat major Op. 133).


9 June 2016, Municipal museum, Bystřice nad Pernštejnem

Concentus Moraviae

Slavomír Hořínka: Words Without Thoughts (world premiere)

Miloslav Ištvan Quartett


Blog Categories: Czech Republic Concert

Slavomír Hořínka: Words Without Thoughts (world premiere)